Leyendo

Estándar

One evening, when she had sat two hours at the kitchen table staring into space instead of making the trip to the frame shop, Ira walked in and said, “What’s for supper?” and she said, “I cant deal with supper! I mean look at this!” and she waved at the can of soup in front of her. “Two and three quarters servings,” she read out. “What do they expect, I have two and three quarters people to feed? Or three, and I’ll just give one of them less? Or maybe I’m supposed to save the rest for another meal, but do you know how long it would take me to come out even? First I have an extra three quarters of a serving an then six quarters and then nine. I’d have to open four cans of soup before I had leftovers that weren’t in fractions. Four cans, I tell you! Four cans of the same single favor!”

Realmente me he encariñado con los personajes de Ira y Maggie Moran (Breathing Lessons / Anne Tyler). Hoy, por primera vez desde marzo, me tomé el ómnibus para ir a trabajar. Ya estaba perdida con los horarios! Pero me salió todo perfecto: al llegar a la parada, el vehículo se asomó en la lontanza, y al subir, me ubiqué en uno de los asientos individuales (que además estaba iluminado) y fui leyendo los 50 o más minutos de viaje. Qué felicidad.

Justamente por esta falta de viajes matutinos en ómnibus, sumado a otras varias pequeñeces que suman, este año no llego ni jodiendo al record del año pasado. Calculo que la mitad. Ya haré la lista.

Responder

