Más Poetry!

Estándar

Me traje hace unos días un libro, porque tenía poemas buenos. Ahora abro por atrás, y agarro uno que no había leído:

Adrian Henri’s Talking After Christmas Blues

Well I woke up this mornin’ it was Christmas Day
And the birds were singing the night away
I saw my stocking lying on the chair
Looked right to the bottom but you weren’t there
there was
                       apples
oranges
chocolates
… aftershave
– but not you.

So I went downstairs and the dinner was fine
There was pudding and turkey and lots of wine
And I pulled those crackers with a laughing face
till I saw there was no one in your place
there was
mince pies
brandy
nuts and raisins
… mashed potato
– but not you.

Now it’s New Year and it’s Auld Lang Syne
And it’s 12 o’clock and I’m feeling fine
Should Auld Acquaintance be Forgot?
I don’t know girl, but it hurts a lot
there was
whisky
vodka
dry Martini (stirred
but not shaken)
… and 12 New Year resolutions
– all of them about you.

So it’s all the best for the year ahead
As I stagger upstairs and into bed
Then I looked at the pillow by my side
.. I tell you baby I almost cried
there’ll be
Autumn
Summer
Spring
… and Winter
– all of them without you.

Un poco bajón, pero me gustó.

Axed Between the Ears : a Poetry Anthology / David Kitchen, ed. – Oxford : Heinemann Educational, 1987

Responder

